Filing Online Forms

Once a patient fills in an online form and submits it, YAPI notifies your office and the data is securely downloaded to your server and stored in the YAPI Document Queue. Note that YAPI employs Transport Layer Security (TLS) to protect sensitive information during communication and data transfer. No patient information is stored outside of your office.

This article explains the steps you need to take to update your patient data from the new patient forms (Patient Information or Medical History forms) and file your documents (any documents) into your Practice Management System.

It has the following sections:

Updating Patient Data 

Once the patient data arrives, YAPI informs the office staff by broadcasting the following message.

one.png

We recommend that you update the patient's record in your Practice Management software as soon as the form arrives. Don't wait until the day your patient checks into your office!

New patient data is stored in YAPI Document Queue. The Document Queue icon turns blue if the queue contains a document. 

  1. Click the Document Queue icon on the YAPI Dashboard.

    two.png

    Documents that contain patient information (Patient Information or Medical History forms) that can update the patient records in the Practice Management Software are marked with the following icon documentalertIcon.png. Other documents, such as consents, are marked with the following icons docsIcon.jpg.

    three.jpg

    TIP: You can review any document first by clicking on the document name and selecting the Open document option. The document will open in your PDF reader. After you are done reviewing the document, close the file and go back to the Document Queue.

  2. If the document you are processing is a Patient Information or Medical History form, (PMS integrated form), click on the document name and select the Update option to start updating the patient record. 

    four.png

    For all other forms:

    1. Click on the document name and select the File option.
    2. Select the matching patient from the Select Patient window. 

      NOTE: You must create the new patient's record from your practice management software prior to the update for it to show in the Select Patient window. 

    3. You will get a new window asking you where in your Practice Management Software do you want to file your document. Choose the category, add a note, then click the Ok button. The document will disappear from the Document Queue and get saved in your Practice Management Software.

      You can also choose to wait until the patient arrives and checks in before you file the form. If so skip to Viewing and Filing Documents section.

  3. YAPI will search for patient records in your Practice Management System who's names match the name on the document and display their names on the Select Patient window. If the record is found, select the patient and click the Continue button.

    five.png

    NOTE: You must create the new patient's record from your practice management software prior to the update for it to show in the Select Patient window. 

  4. The Data Viewer displays all the data from the document you selected. Data Viewer fields change depending on the type of data your are importing; Patient Information or Medical History.

    six.png

    TIP: A triangle icon traingleIcon.jpg beside any field means that existing information is already present in your Practice Management Software for this field.  If you wish to keep the existing data, click on the triangle icon to reveal the information and replace the information on your screen (the field will turn blue bluefieldIcon.jpg). Otherwise, any new information on the screen will override existing information. 

    seven.jpg

    Keep clicking on the Update button until you are done updating all the information. 
  5. When you're finished with the update, You will get a message asking if you have successfully updated the patient's record. Click Yes to confirm the update was successful. 

    eight.png

  6. You will then get a message asking you if you want to file the pdf document into your Practice Management Software's images folder. When you've successfully updated the patient's record, YAPI will remove all patient data from the Document Queue leaving the pdf document. This pdf document will eventually end-up in your Practice Management System's images folder. We recommend you leave the pdf document in the Document Queue until the patient arrives so you're able to review it, discuss it with your patient, and annotate. If you choose to leave the document in the Document Queue, click the No button. Otherwise, click the Yes button.

    nine.jpg

  7. If you click the Yes option, you will get a new window asking you where in your Practice Management Software do you want to file your document. Choose the category, add a note, then click the Ok button. The document will disappear from the Document Queue and get saved in your Practice Management Software.

    ten.jpg

    If you clicked the No option, read the next section to find out how to view and file your pdf documents when your patient checks in for their appointment.

Viewing and Filing Documents

When the patient arrives and you check them in, YAPI will pull their documents from the Document Queue and insert it in their Document Folder. You will know that the patient has documents that need to be filed when you see the following patient alert next to their avatar.

elev.jpg

  1. Right click on the alert then click Show Documents. The patient Document Viewer will be displayed. You will be able to view, annotate, and print the documents. Please note that the globe icon next to the document name indicates that the document was submitted online.

    twel.png

  2. To send the document to your practice management system's images folder, select the document you would like to file then click on the green arrow icon greenArrowIcon.jpg.

  3. You will get a new window asking you where in your Practice Management Software do you want to file your document. Choose the category, add a note, then click the Ok button. The document will disappear from the Document Queue and get saved in your Practice Management Software.

    last.jpg

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful