Introduction to InstaReview
Table of Contents
Prefer to watch a video?
Click to view full screen.
What is InstaReview?
InstaReview is a feature that sends text to patients, requesting a review of your practice. Patients can then click a link within the request, leading them to a nanosite (a mini webpage on their phone) with clickable links to your practice's Google entry, Facebook page, Yelp page, or a provider's Healthgrades page so they can easily leave a review. Patients also have the option to leave you negative feedback directly instead, which is then sent your email and/or mobile phone and not posted online.
InstaReview can be set up to send review requests automatically when a patient visits your office or you can choose to only send requests manually, giving you more control over who receives them and when.
Why Use InstaReview?
Reviews improve your business! New patients often rely on internet reviews to find a new practice when they're searching for a dentist. Having good reviews (and more of them) makes your practice stand out. Great reviews can also improve your practice's search engine optimization (SEO) so that when patients search for a practice in your area, yours appears higher on the search page.
Feedback also lets patients feel heard and helps your team address issues when they arise. This, in turn, improves your work, your patient relationships, and your patients' experience.
InstaReview Setup Window
To access the InstaReview Setup, click the Online icon in the YAPI Dashboard. From the dropdown, select InstaReview, then Setup.
|Clinic||Message Text w/ Appointment||Test|
|Enable||Message Text w/ No Appointment||Import|
|Google Integration||Add Logo||Export|
|Yelp Business ID||Automatic Settings||Save|
|Facebook Page ID||Visual Feedback on Dashboard||Ok|
This feature is in development for practices using Clinics (Open Dental), Sites (Eaglesoft), or Views (Dentrix). Currently, YAPI doesn't support InstaReview for multiple locations using Clinics, Sites, or Views.
Selecting this checkbox enables InstaReview.
Entering your practice's Google Place ID here adds a button to the InstaReview nanosite where patients can review the practice on Google. Clicking the Verify button opens the practice's Google entry so you can verify you have the correct ID entered.
Yelp Business ID
Entering the Business ID for your practice's Yelp page here adds a button to the InstaReview nanosite where patients can review the practice on Yelp. Clicking the Verify button opens the Yelp page so you can verify you have the correct ID entered.
Facebook Page ID
Entering the Page ID for the practice's Facebook page here adds a button to the InstaReview nanosite where patients can review the practice on Facebook. Clicking the Verify button opens the Facebook page so you can verify you have the correct ID entered.
Entering the ID for one provider's Healthgrades page here adds a button to the InstaReview nanosite where patients can review the provider on Healthgrades. Clicking the Verify button opens the Healthgrades page so you can verify you have the correct ID entered.
Message Text with Appointment
This text is sent to patients when when they are sent automated InstaReview requests and manual requests from the Dashboard operatories. %p is replaced with your practice's name when texts are sent. %x and %a can also be added to include the patient and provider names with additional setup.
Message Text with No Appointment
This text is sent to patients when you send a manual InstaReview request from the Patient Finder. %p is replaced with your practice's name when texts are sent.
This feature is no longer available. Your practice's logo will always appear at the top of your InstaReview nanosite when your patient clicks the link in their InstaReview request text.
This section controls automated settings for InstaReview including when patients receive their request automatically, how many requests are sent per family, and filters for age range and Gmail user only. For more details about these settings, see Setting Up InstaReview.
Visual Feedback on Dashboard
When Visual Feedback on Dashboard selected and a patient is in the Dashboard when their InstaReview request is sent, their InstaReview Star changes to a star with a blue arrow . This visual feedback indicates to your team that a review request has been sent to this patient today. If Visual Feedback on Dashboard is deselected, the InstaReview star simply disappears when a request is sent.
Entering your email address and/or mobile phone number into this section allows you to receive notifications when a patient sends you negative feedback by clicking the red "Let Us Know" button under "Your experience was not great?" within their InstaReview request. If these spaces are left blank, you won't receive any notifications for InstaReview.
Note: The "Notify on negative feedback" checkbox must always be selected.
This button opens a window for you to enter your mobile phone number so you can send yourself a test InstaReview request:
Imports InstaReview settings from an exported InstaReview .txt file. This allows you to easily import the existing InstaReview settings from another practice location (see Export below).
Exports current InstaReview settings to a .txt file so you can transfer them to another practice location.
This button saves your current changes without closing the InstaReview Setup window.
This button saves your current changes and closes the InstaReview Setup window.
Setting Up InstaReview & Changing Settings
If you're ready to setup InstaReview or need to make changes to your existing InstaReview Settings, see our article Setting Up InstaReview
- Introduction to InstaReview (Video)
- Setting Up InstaReview
- Sending an InstaReview Request Manually
- Opting a Patient Out of InstaReview